October / November • Guided Trips on the Westfield & Deerfield River.

The fall is by far my favorite time of year to fish. The Westfield and Deerfield River transform this time of year and the fishing is incredible.

Rates: 

$190 for a full day (6 hours) and $100 for a half day (3 hours)

I provide the rods, reels, flies and lunch on full day trips.

You provide your waders. I encourage fly fisherman to bring their own fly rod if they prefer it. I find, using what you know produces more fish.

I will also photograph our adventure giving you a copy of the images and post them to this blog, with your consent of course.  

 

THE WATER:

The EB of the Westfield River: Perfect for full day trips! I live about 30 min from the EB of the Westfield and fish it often. The Westfield is a wild, beautiful freestone river that is one of the most serene rivers I’ve ever fished. Once you fish it, your hooked. We will be targeting browns, rainbows and wild brook trout with the occasional but rare tiger trout. The EB is also shallow at points. If you have lightweight breathable waders bring those. It can get hot down in the gorge and I personally like to wear water shoes and wade in the shallows with no waders at all in the evenings.

DSCF3365

The Deerfield River: My Front Yard! This river is perfect for half day trips on late afternoons and evenings during the summer. During the magic hour between 6:30 – 8:30 pm browns, rainbows and brookies come to the surface to take a dry. This river has more water that holds some big fish. With its stunning bends and wildlife, you won’t be disappointed.

DSCF3294

A little about me.

I am 27, I have been a fly fisherman for roughly 17 years. I got into fly fishing for the love of sight fishing. Mostly all the fish that I catch on the Westfield and Deerfield are caught on streamers, buggers and big fluffy dries. I tend to get bored quickly with nymphing, its really not my thing. So if you prefer nyphming I may not be the guide for you.

 

What to Bring

 A Massachusetts Freshwater Fishing License is required, Your own waders (inexpensive hip boots usually work), polarized sunglasses, warm clothes for those fall evenings /mornings is essential for a comfortable trip, a hat, sunscreen, you know the drill. As I said before I will provide lunch for full day trips only. Cold cut sandwiches, chips with some refreshments. Let me know if you have any dietary restrictions.

 

Contact me at grantfigura@gmail.com and Ill put you on the fish!

Leave a Reply

